First Name
Ale
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
Ford bronco sport
Hi All
I have A 2022 OB Sport… 36k miles.
it’s been twice in one month that I’ve had to tow the car on a flat bed because the car completely shuts down while driving. The first time left me stranded in the middle of the highway during rush hour, and last night on the intersection, in rush hour.
when it shuts down nothing works, absolutely nothing, not even the hazard lights. All electrical features are disabled, the wheels lock, can’t turn it back on.

I’ve taken it to Ford and they claim they can’t recreate the issue and they deemed the car “fine”. A car that randomly shuts down is not “fine”. I’ve asked them to check batteries, alternator, maybe there could be a short circuit… idk, I’m not a mechanic just going by common sense, but the people at Ford claim they hook up the computer, all the error messages were cleared (erased) and the car is fine… all that means to me is that they reset the computer, that just eliminates error messages, but doesn’t solve the issue.
last night I was told it could even be a network problem….
has anyone encountered this and what was your outcome?
thanks!
Sponsored

Bucko

Outer Banks
First Name
Kevin
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2023 Ford Bronco Sport Outer Banks Area51
You've been documenting it with visits to Ford, that is good. Leave it there until you get a definitive diagnoses, and repair.

A vehicle shutting down on any road is placing yourself in a dangerous situation, and that is not acceptable.

My wife and I had a similar issue in that a BMW we owned would not start randomly. When we would take it in (warranty), they could not duplicate the issue. After 3 failures, it finally demonstrated the issue with their mechanic, who was testing it every hour for a day.

They eventually initiated the Lemon law, as they replaced several items, and even flew in an expert BMW mechanic who was unable to locate the issue.

They placed us into an upgraded model.