Moderate Off-Roading

bjbena

First Name
Barry
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
Escape SEL. EcoSport SES
So, I replaced the front bumper on my 21 BL in May (through insurance) because I was very new and got 'frisky going 'off road'. I offset it in quotes as I simply mean an area near my house where they are constructing new homes, but haven't begun yet.

I tried again last night (being overly cautious and just creeping) and I still managed to f-up my 4-month-old bumper. Granted, its not as bad/big as before but it's still there. I'm doing the replacement myself this time, but that's still at least $320.

I know I am new at this but am I doing something wrong? I mean, I was barely making headway and the 'ditch' was about 6 inches deep but still. I like to have a little fun with the BL but this is getting ridiculous.
Sponsored

Meanderthal

Badlands
First Name
Eric
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
'08 BMW R1200 GS Adv, '23 Norden Expedition
I'm guessing that you scratched some of the black plastic on the underside of the bumper?

I think that if you are concerned about scratching that part then off road driving is not for you.

Elegance

Badlands
First Name
Kris
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2022 Bronco Sport Badlands
Battle scars. My work truck has plenty of dings, dents, and paint scratches just from traversing the FS roads and doing the same as you - Moderate off-roading.

My gov rig is a Ram 1500. Higher clearance, bigger tires, bigger engine, every upgrade you can think of as compared to the Sport. I'm not driving recklessly, especially not in a government vehicle, but these things just happen even if you're doing everything right. If we had to replace our trim pieces every time we got a new dent, this agency would cost the taxpayers millions of dollars every year.

Embrace the first ding and make plenty of fantastic memories getting more.

dakman

Big Bend
First Name
Jim
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2022 Bronco Sport