Any roof racks you can sit on for an extended period of time?

ck51

Badlands
First Name
Chris
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
Bronco Sport Badlands | Area 51
Has anyone done this? I'm a wildlife photographer and when out looking for short-eared owls, I sometimes need to park near grass that's taller than me but shorter than my BS. I usually find a break in the grass so I can get a good view far out into the field. But that can be limiting, especially if the birds aren't flying near those openings.

It'd be great if I could just sit on top of my BS and get a view over the tallest grass. Especially for scouting in general, too.

The ones by Yakima and Yucca seem like they might work, but I'd be curious how sturdy those crossbars are.
Sponsored

Bucko

Outer Banks
First Name
Kevin
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2023 Ford Bronco Sport Outer Banks Area51
They make tents that mount on the roof racks, so I'd think a decent platform on them for you to sit on would be fine as well.

Mark S.

Badlands
First Name
Mark
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2021 Badlands | 2020 Escape
As @Jmuns noted, the static (not in motion) weight limit for the roof is 600 lbs. Whatever cross bars you purchase should list a maximum weight in the specs. When determining how much weight you intend to place on the cross bars be sure to include you, whatever you are wearing, all the gear you'll have up there AND whatever you use for a platform. A 4X8 sheet of 3/4" plywood weighs roughly 70 lbs.

OP
OP

ck51

Badlands
First Name
Chris
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
Bronco Sport Badlands | Area 51
As @Jmuns noted, the static (not in motion) weight limit for the roof is 600 lbs. Whatever cross bars you purchase should list a maximum weight in the specs. When determining how much weight you intend to place on the cross bars be sure to include you, whatever you are wearing, all the gear you'll have up there AND whatever you use for a platform. A 4X8 sheet of 3/4" plywood weighs roughly 70 lbs.