BSBB4Les

BSBB4Les

Big Bend
First Name
Les
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
'03 Mustang conv, '22 Bronco Sport (Spooky)
I'm no expert on unibody construction but by the looks of photos I've seen on another forum, the factory tow hitch assembly appears to be quite substantial. At a minimum, it looks like it is well suited for the tow weight designed for.
Sponsored

RonSwanson

First Edition
First Name
Ron
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2016 Fiesta ST, 2020 Edge ST, 2021 Bronco Sport First Edition
Also the $640 cost of equipping it from the factory is far cheaper (and better integrated) than having it done at the dealer after the fact. Ask me how I know. Granted we bought our BS OB off the lot, but I definitely would have sprung for the tow package had we special ordered ours.

Our hitch will mostly be used for a bike/cargo rack. I have a Yakima EXO system that is generally bolted up to my Sprinter, but will see use on the BS.
How do you like this? Any tips / tricks?

I just picked one up with the top shelf and two gear boxes. I also got a control key so all the SKS cores match, but haven't installed it yet (waiting for the "heat wave" on Wednesday into the 50s).

tburner

Badlands
First Name
Troy
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
Bronco Sport
Regarding your concern, I believe in the event of a rear end collision of sufficient force the bumper would cave rapidly, transferring the majority of the impact to a unibody mounted hitch even if nothing (like the aforementioned step) is mounted in the hitch receiver.
Yeah I agree with that, though in such a collision I imagine the step, if it were installed, would do little to spare the bumper. I think it'd only help in parking lot scuffles.

greenlaker

Outer Banks
First Name
Chris
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
'21 Bronco Sport/'15 M-B Sprinter Crew/'01 S2000
Not really.

Bumper with OEM cutouts is $430-ish. Hitch is $180-ish. Wiring harness is $90-ish.