rickmorton

Outer Banks
First Name
Rick
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2021 Bronco Sport
Yesterday, while driving home on a straight road at about 45, all of a sudden the BS had this big "hiccup" or stutter. Almost like the fuel injectors decided to skip a few beats or something - I'm not a mechanic. About 30 seconds later it happened again. Haven't drive today but will test later. This is the first time. 4500 miles on my Outer Banks. Using 91 octane as recommended by the dealer in the heat of Las Vegas. Said it would help the hesitation off the line or when accelerating to pass, etc. Seems like it did help. Not sure what's going on with this new issue.
Sponsored

roh_noes

Outer Banks
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
Bronco Sport 2021
I have had this pretty bad on 90+ degree days too. Sometimes it's not there at all, sometimes it's a small annoyance, and sometimes I can literally slam the pedal to the floor and nothing happens for 2 seconds

OP
OP

rickmorton

Outer Banks
First Name
Rick
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2021 Bronco Sport
Hi there. I brought this up with the service mgr and he said to use 91 octane... that the heat affects the hesitation with power octane... for some reason. So now I use 91 and don't have the same problems with accelerating. It's extremely hot where I am now, so that might be it - just another quirky with the engine. I'm fighting a lot of disappointment with the power, or lack thereof, and the really wacky 8 speed transmission that seems always to be searching for the right gear.

aryus

Big Bend
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2021 Bronco Sport Big Bend
Haven't had the stutter, but accelerator definitely lacks response in high temperatures. Will have to try 91 octane on my next tank and see if that makes a difference.

OP
OP

rickmorton

Outer Banks
First Name
Rick
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2021 Bronco Sport