Replacement bolts for OEM cross bars

kmmcguinn

Outer Banks
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2021 Bronco Sport
Hi all, long-time forum lurker, first-time poster.

I recently ordered the OEM cross bars for my 2021 Outer Banks. I opened the box, put them in the basement, and didn't think about them for a few weeks (I'm a new dad, time for hobbies is limited right now). When I got around to installing them a few weeks later I found they didn't fit well and when I tried to secure them the torx key included for installation stripped the heads of two out of the four bolts that affix the cross bars to the roof rails.

I am no mechanic but I have done plenty of my own automotive work before. These bolts were crap and the torx key included was worse. They were defective in my opinion. I called and emailed Ford Customer Service, who were absolutely no help. Since the order was over 30 days old and I didn't keep the original box they refuse to accept a return and were not able to find me replacement bolts for the set up. I tried taking the two remaining functional bolts to Ace Hardware and Home Depot to find replacement but was unsuccessful. I took a chance and tried ordering new bolts from an OEM Ford Parts supplier but the ones labeled "Bronco Sport Cross Bar Bolts" weren't even close to a fit.

Does anyone have any sage advice as to how I can either facilitate a return or find some replacement bolts to get this thing installed?

Thanks in advance!
Sponsored

Jmuns

Badlands
First Name
Justin
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2022 Bronco Sport BL
Have you asked the parts department at your dealership?

cprcubed

Big Bend
First Name
Patrick
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2022 Cyber Orange BS BB, 1997 Ford F250 HD 7.3 PSD
If you can determine the correct diameter and thread pitch (metric or otherwise) and length, I would figure yu should be able to source something from Grainger.com or Fastenal. Both have a pretty good selection of various types. Cheers!

Bucko