mrsrebel

Big Bend
First Name
Mona
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2021 Ford Bronco Sport
I'm new to remote start (last new vehicle was an '03!) and we just had the first of our Missouri nasty weather. I started via Ford Pass twice yesterday to try to keep ice off the windows. This morning, car won't start--jump start put it back into operation.
So, remote start doesn't actually 'start' the car?? As I said, new to all this so don't beat me up too bad :) I will say that it handled the ice and snow on our hillside quite handily once it DID get started.
Also, looking for good option (other than building a garage) to keep snow/ice out of wiper area. On my previous car I did the "wipers up" thing but that won't work with remote starting to defrost etc.
Sponsored

Mark S.

Badlands
First Name
Mark
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2021 Badlands | 2020 Escape
I started via Ford Pass twice yesterday to try to keep ice off the windows. This morning, car won't start--jump start put it back into operation.

Also, looking for good option (other than building a garage) to keep snow/ice out of wiper area. On my previous car I did the "wipers up" thing but that won't work with remote starting to defrost etc.
I'm a bit unclear about what happened. You said you started the car using remote start twice, but when you tried to start it this morning it wouldn't start. Did you confirm the engine actually started using remote start? According the Owner's Manual (pg 117) remote start will not work if the battery voltage is too low.

I believe your best option for keeping snow and ice out of the wiper cowling will be a cover of some sort. Some here have recommended the Frost Guard.

OP
OP
mrsrebel

mrsrebel

Big Bend
First Name
Mona
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2021 Ford Bronco Sport