SandBam

Badlands
First Name
Gilbert
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
None
So just wanted to get y’all a prospective. I am new to off-roading and quite frankly want a vehicle to travel around with my family through Texas and Colorado. My question is do I really need the Badlands to do it? My gut tells me to go Badlands but my overall driving leads me to outer banks. Anyone have some reasons why a Badlands is necessary. Where do y’all go and travel? Thanks
Sponsored

VapourTrails

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
VW
So just wanted to get y’all a prospective. I am new to off-roading and quite frankly want a vehicle to travel around with my family through Texas and Colorado. My question is do I really need the Badlands to do it? My gut tells me to go Badlands but my overall driving leads me to outer banks. Anyone have some reasons why a Badlands is necessary. Where do y’all go and travel? Thanks
I have similar questions. I would add. If you spend most of your time on pavement is there any downside to the Badlands model?

Slickrock

Badlands
First Name
Slick
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
Honda Ridgeline
Think the simple decision comes down to, do you want true 4WD, or just AWD?

Sure 4WD lets you travel some tougher trails, but it's also going to help for snow/ice/sand, so it really depends on your driving needs.

Personally, I want the availability of 4WD, even though I rarely need it.

autonathan

Outer Banks
First Name
Nathan
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2006 Lincoln Town Car
I think most people will go for the Badlands simply for the 2.0L engine. I went with the Outer Banks just to get all the bells and whistles and the bigger wheels. Personally, I really like the little 3-cylinder. I've driven it a few times in the Escape and it does really well. I don't think the 2.0L is necessary unless you just want the extra power. The drivetrain is mostly the same, though the twin-clutch rear drive unit would help in very tough situations.

VapourTrails

Threads