Aleta51

Badlands
First Name
Danielle
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
Chevy 1500 LTZ Z71 crew cab
So I have the 2022 Badlands… And I am in love. I’ve never done this before but I was told to reset the mpg at every Philip so I noticed it after I do that my gas mileage is amazing so driving around town today after filling up no highway driving I’m getting 30.7 miles per gallon… On my way to my destination I got 26.8 On the highway and then
reset it when I filled it… I just made a 15 mile round-trip downtown and I’m still getting 30.7 miles per gallon… Are you supposed to reset it? Or just leave it ? how do I figure out what my real mpg is?
Sponsored

Mark S.

Badlands
First Name
Mark
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2021 Badlands | 2020 Escape
It's entirely up to you what you do with the reset button; it won't impact fuel economy. The computer is typically optimistic; it will indicate higher than actual MPG. The only way to get an accurate reading is to track it by hand. Fill up, reset your trip meter, then write down how much fuel you put in the tank over the next three tankfuls. Divide miles on the trip meter by gallons burned.

The value of computer-indicated mileage is tracking trends. The indicated mileage is usually high, but it's consistently high. If you notice a large, unexplained change in indicated mileage that could mean a mechanical issue.

Glamdring70

Badlands
First Name
Tim
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
'21 BL+BL
I leave the instant economy screen alone so it just accumulates a lifetime average (until the battery is disconnected anyhow). I reset the trip screen when filling up.