Does 2.0L engine use cylinder deactivation like the 1.5?

frk

First Name
Bob
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
Subaru
Anyone know if the 2.0 uses cylinder deactivation like the 1.5? And if so, does one of the optional driving modes (like Sport) deactivate the deactivation?
Sponsored

dreamwrx

Badlands
First Name
Huy
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
09 WRX
Don't quote me on this because I have no actually knowledge of this.

However using my googlefu... I haven't seen any indication that the 2.0L ecoboost can do cylinder deactivation. Its an inline 4, and that design isn't intended to run on a 3 cylinder, they would have to cut fuel to 2 cylinders.

I think they just use auto start/Stop technology for fuel efficiency.

Someone with more knowledge please correct me if I am wrong.

OP
OP

frk

First Name
Bob
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
Subaru
What you say about the 4 cylinder makes sense with the little bit I've started to research about engines. I neither need nor can afford all that the 2.0 offers, but am leery about driving on 2 cylinders with the 1.5. That's why I wonder if, but doubt, there's a way to deactivate that feature, such as using Sport mode

VapourTrails

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
VW
What you say about the 4 cylinder makes sense with the little bit I've started to research about engines. I neither need nor can afford all that the 2.0 offers, but am leery about driving on 2 cylinders with the 1.5. That's why I wonder if, but doubt, there's a way to deactivate that feature, such as using Sport mode
I test drive a 1.5 Escape and I honestly could not tell when or if it was in 2 cylinder mode.

dreamwrx

Badlands
First Name
Huy
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
09 WRX
Maybe a test drive like vapour says would put your mind at ease.

Also there are a couple of youtube videos about boosting the 1.5 L Dragon's power output.. the 3 cyl does sound pretty interesting.

OP
OP

frk

First Name
Bob
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
Subaru