Do I need to shift the GOAT mode for driving in the snow or is 4wd fulltime?

DavePop

Badlands
First Name
David
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2021 Bronco Sport
Ok just wondering do I need to shift the GOAT mode for driving in the snow or is it All time 4wd
Sponsored

Rgill

Badlands
First Name
Vegas
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2011 Toyota FJ Cruiser
Ok just wondering do I need to shift the GOAT mode for driving in the snow or is it All time 4wd
It is basically a very intelligent drive system, but not locked 4x4 unless use the 4x4 lock or a GOAT mode that locks it. Putting it in slippery should be fine normally unless you get in a situation where the lock is needed to get moving.

We had a saying when I was a cop in Utah. It is 4 wheel drive and not 4 wheel stop. So think of using the 4x4 lock when you need it because you are not getting forward momentum in the direction you are trying to go. Stopping is all tire dependent in the snow, which you know. Good tires and slippery mode should do it for you.

Here is a nice write up which I think is helpful from the guys at Bronco Nation…..

G.O.A.T. Modes are part of the overall Terrain Management System (TMS) in the Bronco Sport. All Bronco Sports have the TMS with five G.O.A.T. modes but the Badlands and First Edition trims also have Trail Control and two additional G.O.A.T. Modes in their TMS.

First let’s look at which G.O.A.T. Modes are included in which trims. Here’s the breakdown:

• Included in all Bronco Sports
  • Normal
  • Eco
  • Sport
  • Slippery
  • Sand
  • Additional Modes Available in Bronco Sport Badlands and First Edition
  • Mud/Ruts
  • Rock Crawl
Those last two modes are both tied to the advanced 4x4 system that comes with the Badlands and First Edition, specifically the 4x4 Lock and Rear Differential Lock features.